Ten Most Popular ISO Standards

ISO standards belong to different categories. Some of these standards are industry-specific, while others are generic and can be applied to any industry. Among these, the most popular ISO standards are:

ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is among the most popular ISO standards belonging to the ISO 9000 family, a family of quality management standards. Although the family consists of fourteen standards, ISO 9001:2015 is the only standard an organization can certify itself. The standard was published first in 1987, and it keeps getting updated after every seven years. ISO 9001:2015 tells the organizations in detail about how the organizations can incorporate this standard for providing quality products and services.

ISO 9001 is a customer-oriented standard and emphasizes continuous improvement in the top management processes. After its 2015 update, ISO 9001 now focuses more on risk management. This standard is generic in terms of its scope and can be applied in any organization.

ISO 9001 is an important standard, as a professional representing a recognized organization you need to have a copy of the standard. You can purchase the ISO 9001 standard from the BSI store.

ISO 14001

This standard belongs to a family of standards related to the environment. Like ISO 9001, this standard is the only one to which certification can be obtained. ISO 14001 provides a foundation for the establishment of an environmental management system. This standard is based upon the PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act). As a voluntary standard, this standard is important for the companies that want improvement in their processes.

ISO 14001 is needed if your company is implementing the environment management system. You can purchase the ISO 14001 standard from the BSI store.

ISO 45001

ISO 45001 is related to the family of standards that deal with occupational health and safety. This standard is meant for organizations that want to make their work environment safer for their employees, reduce workplace risk, and create better working conditions. There are two standards in this family:

  • ISO 45001:2018-Occupational health and Safety Management Systems
  • ISO/PAS 45005:2020-Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems.

The former standard in this list contains requirements for use. In contrast, the latter contains general guidelines for safe working during the Covid-19 pandemic. Purchase these standards online from BSI store.

ISO 27000

The standards given in this family are regarding information technology. The goal of this standard is security improvement and asset protection. The standard was initiated in 2005, and the two most popular standards in this family are ISO 27001:2013 and 27002:2013. Among the former is a management-based system, and the latter is a technical document. It is a broad standard, and hence, its certification can be tailored to fit the organization’s needs.

ISO 27001 is a critical component of the information security – ISO 27000 series. You can purchase the ISO 27001 standard from the BSI store.

ISO 22000

ISO 22000 is focused on developing and implementing a food safety management system. This standard is helpful for any organization that wants to work in a food chain. This family has multiple standards, with ISO 22001 dealing with food and drink and ISO 22002 dealing with food manufacturing. In a broader sense, ISO 22000 and the other standards that are part of its family can be used in various organizations involved with food, whether directly or indirectly.

ISO 22000 is a fundamental auditable standard for your food organization. You can purchase the ISO 22000 standard from the BSI store.

ISO 50001

ISO 50001 is one of the newest additions in the ISO family. As an energy standard, ISO 50001 was released in 2001. This standard is ideal for the companies willing to adopt an Energy Management System (EMS) for an improved and efficient use of energy. Adopting an EMS includes reducing an organization’s energy footprint, as greenhouse emissions are reduced along with energy costs.

ISO 50001 is a backbone for the energy management system and also helps ISO 14001. You can purchase the ISO 50001 standard from the BSI store.

ISO/TS 16949

ISO/TS 16949 is developed for the automotive industry. Before this standard, car manufacturers from different countries would require the suppliers to standardize their products according to their country’s regulations. This would result in the suppliers obtaining multiple certifications for a single product. To solve this issue, the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) created this standard.

ISO 13485

ISO 13485 is a medical equipment standard. It was published in 2003 and was revised in 2016. This standard puts the requirement of a QMS to produce medical devices and equipment for the health industry.

ISO 13485 is vital for having a QMS for medical devices with a perspective of regulatory needs. You can purchase the ISO 13485 standard from the BSI store.

ISO 31000

This standard is considered essential for organizations that are looking forward to risk management. This standard was created in 2009 and requires the establishment of a risk management system for risk reduction. This standard also enables a company to better identify threats before their occurrence, along with an effective allocation and use of resources for the risk treatment.

ISO 31000 is although non auditable but followed widely for risk management framework. You can purchase the ISO 31000 standard from the BSI store.

ISO 26000

ISO 26000 was released in 2010, with an emphasis on social responsibility. This standard is used as a guidance document, and businesses can obtain guidance regarding their operations in a socially responsible way. The standard also clarifies social responsibility while assisting organizations in taking effective actions related to global social responsibility.

Social responsibility is important for sustainable organizations that care about the social fabric along with their businesses. Purchase the ISO 26000 standard online directly from BSI store.

TSQ & E Has the Right Expertise in ISO Standards

At TSQ and E, we have the most proficient team of experts that possess the capability of working with ISO standards. We are already providing various companies and organizations interested in the guidelines and strategies to obtain the above-mentioned ISO certifications. If your organization is looking for a credible guidance source to obtain your ISO certification, then you can contact us through our website tsquality.ch.

About the Author

Waqas Imam

S. M. Waqas Imam is associated with TS Quality as a Regional Partner. He is also an ambassador of Medical Device Community. He is an Industrial Engineer by qualification and served the manufacturing industry since 2011. He is also IRCA CQI Lead Auditor of ISO 9001 and other management system standards. He had served as Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs Manager in QSA Surgical Pvt. Ltd. and Ultimate Medical Products. He managed requirements of ISO 13485:2003, EU directives, CE marking and FDA. He also served as Expert Blog Writer for 13485Academy and wrote expert articles on various topics of ISO 13485:2016.